Beware - this is archived content that is only kept online as a historical reference point.

Within this section are the MRCS regulations and syllabus, which consisted of Parts 1 2, and 3 (OCC), and ceased in 2011. Candidates who entered the examination under these regulations moved over to the Part B (OSCE) examination or the Part B (OCC), depending on whether they sat the Part B in the UK or overseas.

Archived MRCS January 2004 - September 2010 regulations

MRCS regulations 2004-2010

Archived MRCS January 2004 - September 2010 syllabus

The syllabus for the examination fully integrates basic science and clinical knowledge. The aim of the syllabus is to set out for candidates a comprehensive description of the breadth and depth of the knowledge, skills and attributes expected of them. The syllabus thus provides a framework around which a programme of preparation and revision can be structured. It also sets out the areas in which candidates will be examined.

The MRCS syllabus can be downloaded in PDF format below:

MRCS syllabus 2004-2010